
Google AI Plans Now Bundle Premium Colab Benefits
Published by AINave Editorial • Reviewed by Ramit
Google AI subscriptions now include premium Google Colab benefits, making cloud Python computing available through a plan starting at $4.99 per month. The change gives the AI subscription another practical use: Colab lets users write and run Python in a browser using cloud resources, including GPUs and TPUs. Google AI Ultra subscribers also get Premium GPU access and uninterrupted background execution, according to Android Authority’s report.
The bundle is not a feature-for-feature Colab replacement
The reported entry price is below the listed standalone prices for Colab Pro and Pro+: $9.99 and $49.99 per month, respectively. But those prices alone do not establish which option is better value. The report does not specify the compute allocation for each Google AI tier or provide a full feature comparison, so the useful distinction is that the plans bundle access, while Ultra is singled out for additional Colab capabilities.
| Option | Monthly price reported | Colab details reported |
|---|---|---|
| Google AI plan | From $4.99 | Paid plans include premium Colab benefits; allocation not specified |
| Google AI Ultra | Not stated | Premium GPU access and uninterrupted background execution |
| Colab Pro | $9.99 | Standalone subscription |
| Colab Pro+ | $49.99 | Standalone subscription |
The bundle may be most relevant to people who already want a paid Google AI plan and also use Colab. Existing Colab subscribers can keep their subscription and add a Google AI plan: the compute units from both are added to their overall balance, the report says. That is a different proposition from replacing Colab outright, especially since the exact allocation and feature parity remain unspecified.
Activation requires a paid plan and the same account
To connect the benefits, open Colab’s “Colab paid products” link, select “Upgrade to Google One,” and confirm the Google AI subscription. Both services must use the same Google account; activation can then be checked under Settings > Subscription in Colab, according to the account-linking instructions.
Free trials do not qualify. The rollout was reported as underway in countries where Colab is supported, with some users potentially waiting a few weeks for all benefits to appear. The country list and a precise compute allowance for each plan are not specified, so the headline price is only a starting point for judging what the bundle will provide in a particular account.






















